top of page

Global goals

In the Spring of 2018, news website 15min.lt and the Swedish Embassy of Lithuania announced an essay contest for United Nation’s project Global Goals. Each participant had to choose one out of 17 set up goals for a better world by 2030. I chose goal number 12 – Responsible consumption. I wrote an essay about Minimalism and shortly after, received an invitation the award ceremony – turns out I was one of the top 31 out of over 170 participants. I and my English teacher Ona Mikašauskienė attended the ceremony in the Embassy of Sweden in Vilnius on the same year, April 20th. The jury consisted of the minister of education Jurgita Petrauskienė, ambassador Maria Christina Lundqvist, educologist Austėja Landsbergienė, etc. Turns out my essay was awarded as the best one. Me, along with other top 3 participants, received amazing prizes such as a laptop and a trip to the Summit of the Global Goals which took place in Finland the following Summer. The summit, which happened from the 18th to the 20th of August in Aland islands, was named Regeneration 2030. Delegates from various European countries, mostly the Nordic region, represented their countries. Including me – I was one out of 9 Lithuanian delegates. Our main focus was creating a Manifesto to the world about the idea of the Global Goals. We also spent a lot of time discussing in groups how to responsibly consume and produce. Not to mention the amount of acquaintances I gained – they are undoubtedly beneficial.

In short, the trip to Finland was not only very entertaining, but very educational. Above that, all the participants are invited to another summit this summer.


Erika Rindokaitė IV bg


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page